Welcome to the Foundation Stage!

As the Foundation Class teacher, it is my privilege to be working with 17 children (4-5 years old). We refer to the class as the Foundation Class because of the critical skills children learn that lay the foundations for the rest of their lives. There are seven areas of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

More information about these areas can be found in Development Matters from the British Association for Early Childhood Education. We focus on learning 40-60 months and the Early Learning Goals.

Daily or weekly items:
P.E. kits must be in school every day.
Spare underwear and socks to be kept in P.E bag with a carrier bag for wet items.
Named water bottles or a beaker.
Wellies kept outside on the stand: please return daily if taken home

Wellie Wednesday: Dedicated outdoor learning time
Children come to school in school uniform (trousers are necessary). Wellies should already be in school. A waterproof coat will be on their backs coming in. The children will wear school T-shirt/shirt and school jumper under coat.

Hats and snoods when the weather temperature drops. Scarves (can get caught) and knitted gloves hold water, so please don’t send these in.

link to further support for learning 

Kind regards,

Miss Hooker
Foundation Class Teacher

Click here to return to Class Overview